Blue Dawg Brewing – Wild Series (Blue, Red, Black)

Ok…I know I am not tricking any of you true beer enthusiasts. Blue Dawg Brewing is just a subsidy of Anhesuer Busch. Now I know your thinking Anheuser Busch…don’t they make Budweiser?? Well yes they do. Most of you are think why would they be reviewing something from the makers of Budweiser?!?! Crazy. Well I know that your BMC’s (Bud, Miller, Coors) get a bad rap. The truth is that this brewery has been around almost as long as the United States. It was founded in 1852. Anhesuer Busch has bought out a lot of smaller breweries and they do make some of your favorite brands and I bet you don’t even know it. They operate 12 US breweries and 18 other breweries in other countries. They produce Shock Top, Becks, Alexander Keith’s, Landshark, Rolling Rock, Kirin, Leffe, Stella Artois, Hoegaarden, Bass, Boddington’s, Czechvar and Lowenbrau to name a few.

Well anyways onto the beer here. This is a wife exclusive because this is the kind of beer she likes. I don’t mind fruit beers but they are not my thing at all. She remembered having Wild Blue in the past and then we saw these in the beer section at the Giant Eagle. She had to try them.

Anyways these beers aren’t exactly the same beers you think of when you think of Bud Light or Budweiser. These were “Brewed with a blend of two- and six-row barley malt, classic Aroma hops from the Willamette Valley in the Pacific Northwest and German hops from the Hallertau region in Bavaria” then flavored with blackberry, raspberry and blueberry.

The wife loves the flavor of these beers. The Raspberry flavor of the Wild Red makes it a sweet, tasty summer beer. Same said for all of these beers really. She thinks it is a perfect go to alternative if you want something sweet and not necessarily in the mood for a “beer”.  At 8% ABV, this could be one sneaky, sneaky drink. The blackberry was just as good. She decided that her favorite between the the r ed and black was the black, with the red following in a close second. She likes the blue but not as much as the other two. This one comes in third place for her.

All of these were too sweet for me, but you could really taste the flavors you were supposed to and that is a plus I suppose. It was a little bit syrupy to me but that could be just because I am not really into sweet things. The syrupiness really made it lose some points in my book. I try to base things on how I enjoy them but also of them being true to their type. I just think there are a little better fruit beers out their then these but for what they are, they aren’t bad.

I think maybe trying to make a half and half with either a Guinness, a Hoegaarden or a Young’s Double Chocolate Stout might interest me because I do love a little bit of fruit flavor sometimes.

Wild Black

Wife Scale: 9.1 / 10

My Scale: 3 / 10

Wild Red

Wife Scale: 9 / 10

My Scale: 3 / 10

Wild Blue

Wife Scale: 8 / 10

My Scale: 3 / 10

T.Guz

This entry was posted by tommyguz8.

12 thoughts on “Blue Dawg Brewing – Wild Series (Blue, Red, Black)

    • I agree with you 100%! These do taste so sweet that they are mostly undrinkable, They are just like a beer with fruit syrup added! These reviews were done pretty early on in our “blog history” and I think if I went to revisit these now (which sometimes we do revisit beers) I think I would even score them lower than a 3. (3 at the time was a pretty bad score…)There are so many good fruit beers out on the market, but you are right, AB thinks they can just put out a ton of flavored beers just by adding cheap syrup and trick people into thinking its craft. Since this review we have found a ton of “fruit beers” we loved. We had about 18 or so that we scored above 5. (The wives haven’t been trying as many as we have, but they do their share of trying) One of our favorite overall beers that we tried was a fruit beer from Unibroue. Their Quelque Chose.

      I am actually going to Maine this summer, so will try some there too!

  1. You make a mistake in thinking that you didn’t like this just because you don’t like fruit beers. I (and my husband) have had MANY fruit beers we’ve enjoyed over the years. From large and small breweries alike. This one is just bad all across the board. Fruit beer is not supposed to taste syrupy. Fruit beer is not supposed to taste sickeningly sweet. This does, and we had a hard time swallowing it (literally making grimace faces at eachother as we did). The worst part is that, while full of “flavor”, the fruit flavor was very synthetic tasting. It’s an insult to people who like fruit beers. AB thinks they can just squirt some synthetic “fruit-flavored” syrup in this, market it as if it’s a craft brew, and dupe a lot of people into buying it.
    I’d recommend getting your wife any of the fruit beers by Sam Adams, or Dogfish Head. Much much better choice, and you might even find that you like them, yourself.

    • I should add that I’m talking about the blackberry-flavored one. I haven’t had the other two, although my husband said he had a same reaction with the blueberry edition. I will allow that perhaps the blackberry is just the worst of the bunch, or maybe they’ve changed the formula recently.

      • Yeah I am not sure about the formula or what. We had these in April maybe? Like I said for what it is my wife likes them, but she does like a ton of other actual craft “fruit” beers. I don’t know why she likes these, but they are just too sweet for my taste.

        Great comments, thank you and I hope you enjoy our page and interact with us more! We also have a facebook page (which some find easier to comment on things) http://www.facebook.com/thebrewskiboxscore We love hearing What is in your glass and what you think of it!

    • Thank you for the comments! Much appreciated. We love hearing from people with their opinions and views (We actually wish more people would interact with us)

      I agree with guys 100%! These do taste so sweet that they are mostly undrinkable, They are just like a beer with fruit syrup added! These reviews were done pretty early on in our “blog history” and I think if I went to revisit these now (which sometimes we do revisit beers) I think I would even score them lower than a 3. (3 at the time was a pretty bad score…)There are so many good fruit beers out on the market, but you are right, AB thinks they can just put out a ton of flavored beers just by adding cheap syrup and trick people into thinking its craft. Since this review we have found a ton of “fruit beers” we loved. We had about 18 or so that we scored above 5. (The wives haven’t been trying as many as we have, but they do their share of trying) One of our favorite overall beers that we tried was a fruit beer from Unibroue. Their Quelque Chose. Check out our Empty Bottles page and it will let you sort by Beer Type and you can see all the different Fruit Beers we tried.

      The wife loves a ton of different fruit beers, especially most of the Dogfish line (she is from DE and my in laws live close to the brewery so we get all the DFH beers, she actually likes the 120 IPA). For some reason though, she does enjoy these beers (for reasons unknown to me)…but I guess it is all in her taste buds. I think as we have been trying more and more different beers, her score of the red and blue would probably go down. I guess it is all just a matter of taste.

      What are some of the Fruit beer you guys prefer? What other types do you guys drink?

  2. How come I’ve been loving Blue for years down here in NC, and my buddy just texted me from Lake George, NY to tell me about the red and the black? Are you kidding me? I LOVE raspberry. I love blackberry. Why wasn’t I told by the beer gods????? Got my buddy bringing me a case of each, and can’t wait to enjoy them!

  3. Had the pleasure of initially tasting this while on a tour in St. Louis!! Boy they made me tipsy quickly (8% ABV) at the tasting and sample portioning of the tour!!
    The question looms it this a beer or a “beer”????

    Appearance
    This “beer” looks almost opaque, but has a distinct dark red color when seen held up in the light. The head is almost pink, and more red than cream-colored. I LOVE THE COLOR!! Lots of fun to swirl around in a nice wide glass.

    Smell
    Strong wild berry smell, with a bit of bubble gum, it seems.

    Taste
    It’s blueberry, alright! Doesn’t taste much like beer at all, it only has a few hints of malt towards the end.

    Mouthfeel
    Extremely bubbly. Surprisingly not very sticky, almost more like a super-fruity, heavier white wine than a sweet beer.

    Overall
    It’s not really a beer or is it? With that in mind, it’s actually pretty alright. It’s definitely an alternative for people who don’t like “beery” flavors. For what it’s worth, I was quite surprised that it’s fairly enjoyable.

    Additional: I must say I enjoy the Wild Blue product. Kerry despises. How about that for role reversal.

    RNA – 7.25
    KEA – would not score

    • Sara likes the blue the least. She loves the black and enjoys the red. Did you sample all there or just blue? Its definitely questionable about being a beer or not but its not bad for what it is being a fruit flavored lager (so they call it).

  4. I recall having a sixer of Wild Blue in the past and absolutely despising it… KG doesn’t recall it though, even though I am convinced she didn’t like it either (although probably slightly less than my dislike). I do however like your idea of doing a half and half with a nice chocolate stout… that could make for some awesome results

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

